Eggs


I just read this over at Yahoo Health’s “8 ‘Scary’ Food Myths – Busted!” by David Zinczenko

“Nutrition “Scare” #8: Eggs are Cholesterol Bombs!

Perhaps the biggest nutrition myth is that eggs are bad for your heart, a fact attributed to the cholesterol in the yolk. But here’s the truth: The dietary cholesterol found in eggs actually has little effect on the amount of cholesterol in your blood. When it comes to increasing LDL (“bad cholesterol“), trans and saturated fats are the real culprits. The incredible, edible egg is actually an excellent, affordable source of protein and B vitamins, and it may help you lose weight. A 2008 study in the International Journal of Obesity found that dieters who consumed two eggs for breakfast each day lost significantly more weight than those who consumed bagels.”

I have heard from several sources about the wonderful value of eggs as a source of protein and how our fear of them is very misleading. So, continue to do your research and consider using eggs in your blended meals recipes, like this one! 

2 thoughts on “Eggs

  1. I was wondering if I could ask you a question about your daughters feedings at school? I just dropped my son off and I went into the nurses office. His syringe and extension set was just sitting in a cup overnight. I had asked them to throw the syringe away every day and use a new extension every Monday but I always suspected they kept using it. He’s been getting so sick lately and I’m thinking that with all the sick kids coming in and out and coughing its just getting contaminated. Where do they keep your daughters syringes at school?

    I really appreciate it.

    Mary DeSimone
    mary0990@hotmail.com

    • Hi Mary,

      Thanks for your question… Actually, the tube and syringe come home every single day. I wash them and put what I want them to use in her backpack (in a plastic ziploc type bag) for the next day. I wouldn’t make them responsible for that – because then I would worry they wouldn’t have enough time, etc. Or what you said – it sits there getting germs coughed and sneezed all over it every day!
      Lynn

Leave a Reply

