Today’s Recipe


Feeding my daughter via g-tube for medical reasons causes me to do as much recipe review as my cooking for the rest of my family. While I often throw things together at the last minute and it turns out fine for the family, I usually do a bit more planning for my girlie-girl.

(By the way, in the early days of writing this blog I was concerned about protecting my daughter’s identity. However you can know her name… I get sick of typing “Little Miss”… her name is Natalie. We have lots of nicknames for her, but that is a story for another day.)

One of the things we are all aware of is food allergies. I am allergic to some foods and  we can potentially develop allergies to the foods we eat most often. Corn and tomatoes are two foods at the top of the list in this category. For that reason, I’ve decided to give Natalie a break from tomatoes for a month or so. Instead, I’m using red peppers (although I am allergic to them!) One cup of chopped red pepper contains 100% of the recommended daily value of both vitamin c and vitamin a!

Today’s recipe makes a blenderful of food, totaling 1700 ml, or approximately 50 ounces. The calorie content is 32 calories per ounce. Of course, this will vary depending on the size of your vegetables.

Recipe:

1/2 C. Walnuts

1 pound cooked 90% lean ground beef

2T. Flax oil
1 zucchini
1 red pepper
1 C. spinach
6 leaves romaine lettuce
6 mushrooms
1/4 C. Bulgur wheat (cooked)

I always blend the vegetables and water first, then add meat etc. That is just my preferred way that makes me believe all the foods are pulverized.

One thought on “Today’s Recipe

  1. So, SO happy to have found your blog! I’ve been parked hear reading all kinds of posts on g-tubes and homemade food. Thanks for all the great information! I’ll be coming back regularly, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

