AIR BUBBLES!!!


One of the advantages of feeding a child via g-tube for medical reasons is the ability to control their nutrition!  I’m certain that one of the reasons my daughter rarely falls prey to colds and flu is that her diet is so healthy!

In the process of working out the little “kinks” of tube feeding, air bubbles have been a recurring issue.  Since my last post on this matter, I’ve reviewed the ideas mentioned (I think) at Lucy’s Real Food.

As I’ve reduced the amount of meat in my recipes and used more oil and nuts, the benefits have been two fold:

  1. The blended meals are not so thick, which allows for easier feeding, and
  2. The blended meals are not so thick, which allows for more air bubble removal.

Someone mentioned somewhere that after fulling blending a meal for feeding, to remove air bubbles, slow the blender down to a speed of 2 or 1 for a minute or so and IT REALLY WORKS!  It didn’t work on thick formula, but it definitely works on thinner formula.

I use a Vitamix, which I love – it should last me at least 20 years and it works superbly!  After completing the blending process, I switch from high speed to variable speed and turn the dial down to 2.  I then set my kitchen timer for 1 minute.  When the timer goes off, I turn the dial down to 1 and set the kitchen timer for 1 minute. At this point a great quantity of the air bubbles have been removed!  What a great idea!

REMEMBER:  Vitamix Corp advises AGAINST blending at variable speed for more than 2 minutes as it can damage the blender.

One thought on “AIR BUBBLES!!!

Leave a Reply

