Smoothies for breakfast…


It is 6:35 am and I have already fed my family.  Parenting a child with special needs, who is g-tube fed for medical reasons has led me down paths I’d have avoided.  I have benefited from those paths!

My two guys (one age 15 and one age-undisclosed 😉 ) just left for their busy days.  I have been up since 5:45, but it only took me 10 minutes to make their breakfasts:

Into blender:

2 cups orange juice, 2 large bananas, 1 pound strawberries, 4 ice cubes.

Blend and serve!  Then with the leftover amount of about 2 cups, I add 1 cup of (full-fat) yogurt and 15 walnut halves.  (The guys don’t like these two ingredients in their smoothies.)  I then feed my darling daughter, Little Miss, with this smoothie.This provides protein, vitamins, minerals, fiber, essential fatty acids and has the added benefit of smelling great!

Calories for her version:  20 –  31 calories per ounce

I hear you saying, “That is quite a variance in calories!  What makes the difference?”

Air bubbles make some of the difference – check out tomorrow’s post!

Leave a Reply

